The Irbensky Lightship


Here you see pictures of Irbensky lightship in service at Irbensky strait, between Latvia and Estonia during 1970-1980-е, as well as during later years as an auxillary vessel moored in Saint Petersburg, Russia. Then its condition once the lightship was decommissioned and prepared to be scrapped. And finally on renovation as a memorial vessel in Kronstadt and Kaliningrad.

Should you have relevant pictures or videos to share - please do, we'll post it here with a due reference to your site or social profile.

On this site you learn the story of the lightship service in the Russian waters on the Baltic, White, Caspian and Black seas from early XIX to late XX centuries. As of now, there is just one single lightship that survived in Russia, that was built in Finland in 1961. And in Finland you may visit the only sirviving lightship that was built by a Russian shipyard in St.Petersburg.

All the drawings and papers of Irbensky and other relevant documents that we find and manage to digitize will be shared here.

Should you also have anything interesting about Irbensky lightship, or more broadly - about the lightship service in Russia, Eastern Baltics, Black sea or Caspian - please let us know.

This site updates you about the renovation of Irbensky lightship carried out by the Kaliningrad-based World Ocean museum. Archive of past news about Irbensky is kept here as well. Our experience in rising public concern about last Russian lightship that was bound to be scrapped tells that it's the common people who help to save important historic pieces through their curiosity, care and being ready to campaign. Share your thoughts, questions and suggestions via email or in our public group. Stay with us and let the Irbensky's guiding light be with you!

Плавучий маяк "Ирбенский"


В разделе Фотогалерея Вы увидите плавучий маяк Ирбенский на позиции в Балтийском море в 1970-1980-е годы, штаб дивизиона гидрографических судов на бору Ирбенского в 2008 году, плавучий маяк после списания, перед предполагавшейся разделкой в металлолом, и ремонт Ирбенского на Кронштадтском морском заводе.

У Вас тоже есть фотографии "Ирбенского"? Присылайте, опубликуем со ссылкой на Вашу площадку в Интернете или соцсетях.

На нашей площадке Вы узнаете об истории использования плавучих маяков для ограждения фарватеров в российских водах с начала XIX до конца XX века. На сегодняшний день в России сохранился один плавучий маяк, построенный в 1961 г. в Финляндии. А в самой Финляндии можно увидеть единственный сохранившийся плавмаяк, построенный на территории современной России, в Санкт-Петербурге.

По мере оцифровки документов на плавучий маяк "Ирбенский" мы будем выкладывать их в соответствующий раздел нашей площадки. Чертежи, судовые бумаги, карты, техническая информация - всё это можно будет увидеть и скачать с нашего сайта.

Мы будем крайне признательны за любые документы, касающиеся "Ирбенского" или других плавучих маяков России, СССР, Финляндии и стран Прибалтики.

Мы будем держать Вас в курсе реставрации плавучего маяка "Ирбенский" Музеем Мирового океана и хранить интересные новостийные сюжеты о нём из различных СМИ. Ведь именно общественное внимание к судьбе уникального корабля, неравнодушие обычных людей помогло уберечь его от разделки на металлолом. Мы будем рады Вашим откликам, вопросам и предложениям в нашей группе Вконтакте. Будьте с нами, плавучий маяк должен светить всем!